Skip to content


Host nation Cameroon will kickstart their Africa Cup of Nations round of 16 off with a thrilling encounter against Comoros at the Olembe Stadium in Olembé on Monday.


Cameroon booked their place in the round of 16 after they finished Group A unbeaten at the top of the standings with seven points after beginning their campaign with a 2-1 win over Burkina Faso followed by thrashing Ethiopia 4-1 before ending their group with a 1-1 draw against Cape Verde.


Comoros made their way to this stage of the competition after finishing in the third position in Group C with three points following their 1-0 defeat to Gabon in the opening game followed by a 2-0 loss to Morocco before clinching a thrilling 3-2 victory over Ghana in their final game.

The Indomitable Lions were one of the highest-scoring sides during the group stages with a total of seven goals while only conceding three and Vincent Aboubakar, who is currently the leading top scorer in the tournament, has contributed to five goals of the seven.

The Coelacanths have only scored three and conceded three in the group stages and winger Ahmed Mogni is their current top scorer with two goals with his brace against Ghana, while their other goal was scored by El Fardou Ben in the same match.


Al-Nassr forward Vincent Aboubakar has by far been the best player for his nation as well as in the tournament. He is currently the front runner for Player of the Tournament and is a favourite to win the Golden Boot for his exploits in front of goal.

Despite only scoring their first goals of the tournament in their final group game, Comoros’ best player has been Annecy FC winger Ahmed Mogni, who fired his side into the knockout stages with two goals in their final group game.

Toni Conceição is expected to have a fully fit Cameroon squad for the upcoming fixture with no injuries or suspensions, while Amir Abdou only have one player sideline as Faiz Mattoir continues to recover after he tested positive for the coronavirus.

Possible Starting Lineups:

: André Onana, Collins Fai, Harold Moukoudi, Michael Ngadeu-Ngadjui, Nouhou Tolo, Samuel Gouet, Moumi Ngamaleu, Pierre Kunde, André-Frank Zambo Anguissa, Karl Toko Ekambi, Vincent Aboubakar.

Comoros: Salim Ben Boina, Benjaloud Youssouf, Younn Zahary, Kassim M’Dahoma, Saïd Bakari, Faïz Selemani, Mohamed M’Changama, Fouad Bachirou, Ahmed Mogni, Ibroihim Djoudja, El Fardou Mohamed Ben Nabouhane.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: