Skip to content


Al Ahly and Mamelodi Sundowns will be determined to return to winning ways when the two sides meet in the CAF Champions League Group A for a mouth-watering clash at the Cairo International Stadium on Saturday evening.


Al Ahly will be determined to secure their first win in the group stages after they played out to a goalless draw against Al-Hilal at the Al-Hilal Stadium in Omdurman on Friday evening.

The Red Eagles currently occupy second place on the table in Group A, level on one point with third-placed Al-Hilal and bottom of the table Al-Merrikh after one match.


Mamelodi Sundowns will be hoping to return to winning ways when they take on Pitso Mosimane’s side after they were held to a goalless draw by Al Merrikh in a Caf Champions League Group A match played at the Al Salam Stadium in Cairo on Saturday afternoon.

The Brazilian go into the encounter sitting at the top of the Group A standings with four points from two goals, having won one and played out to one draw in their most recent match.

Top Scorer:

South African forward Percy Tau currently leads the scoring charts for the Red Devils with five goals in eight games, despite spending some time on the sideline due to injury.

Although Peter Shalulile only scored one goal in 2022, he remains the Brazilians top goalscorer with 17 goals in 24 appearances across all competitions.


Pitso Mosimane will have to make a few changes to his squad with the likes of Badr Benoun, Akram Tawfik, Ahmed Kouka, Amar Hamdy and Salah Mohsen all sidelined through injury, while Manqoba Mngqithi and Rulani Mokwena will only have one player sidelined for the clash in the form of attacker Lebohang Maboe, who continues to mend his way back from a lengthy knee injury.

Possible Starting Lineup:

Al Ahly: 
Aly Lotfi Mostafa, Ali Maรขloul, Yasser Ahmed Ibrahim El Hanafi, Mohamed Abdelmonem, Mohamed Hany Gamal El-Demirdash, Amr Mohamed El Soleya, Aliou Dieng, Hamdi Fathi, Taher Mohamed Ahmed, Ahmed Mohamed Abdelkader Radwan, Mohamed Sherif.

Mamelodi Sundowns: Denis Onyango, Brian Onyango, Rushine De Reuck, Lyle Lakay, Rivaldo Coetzee, Surprise Ralani, Khuliso Johnson Mudau, Andile Jali, Themba Zwane, Erwin Saavedra, Peter Shalulile.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: